Maryland Wear and Carry
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Do I need a Wear & Carry Permit?
Everyone wishing to carry a handgun in Maryland is required to have a valid Maryland Wear and Carry permit.
Who is required to take training?
Everyone must take the training class unless You are:
an active law enforcement officer with a law enforcement agency of the United States, the State or any local law enforcement agency in the State.
a retired law enforcement officer with a law enforcement agency of the United States, the State or any local law enforcement agency in the State.
an active, retired, or honorably discharged member of the armed forces of the United States or the National Guard.
How long is training?
Maryland requires 16 hours of instruction for a new W&C and 8 hours of instruction for a renewal W&C.
Do I have to draw from the holster to qualify?
No. All shots will be taken from the line starting in a low ready position.
What is the course of fire?
Maryland requires a score of 70% or better and a minimum of 25 shots at no more than 15 yards. The suggested course of fire can be found on the Maryland State Police Website Here
What is required to pass?
Maryland Law requires a score of 70% or better and a minimum of 25 shots at no more than 15 yards. This means a minimum 18 shots on target is required.
Will my permit have restrictions?
No. You can read the Maryland State Police Advisory for more information.
Where am I prohibited from Carrying?
Maryland Laws have prohibition on carry in many places. Some of these places are:
On public school property (CR 4-102)
Within 1,000 feet of a demonstration in a public place (CR 4-208)
In legislative buildings (SG 2-1702)
Aboard aircraft (TR 5-1008)
In lodging establishments where the innkeeper reasonably believes individuals possess property that may be dangerous to other individuals, such as firearms or explosives (BR 15-203)
On dredge boats, other than two 10 gauge shotguns (NR 4-1013)
In or around State-owned public buildings and grounds (COMAR 04.05.01.03)
On Chesapeake Forest Lands (COMAR 08.01.07.14)
In State Forests (COMAR 08.07.01.04)
In State Parks (COMAR 08.07.06.04)
In State Highway Rest Areas, unless properly secured within vehicle (COMAR 11.04.07.12)
In community adult rehabilitation centers (COMAR 12.02.03.10)
In child care centers, except for small centers located in residences (COMAR 13A.16.10.04)
More information can be found on the Maryland State Police Wear and Carry page.
IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO KNOW THE LAWS.
Does my CCW from another state allow me to carry in Maryland?
NO. Maryland does not recognize permits from any state.