ANSWERS TO YOUR QUESTIONS
What is the HQL?
Maryland requires all people wishing to purchase a regulated firearm to:
Obtain a Handgun Qualification License (HQL)
Apply for and be approved (NOT DISAPPROVED) to purchase the regulated firearm (77r)
Wait 7 days to take possession of your regulated firearm
Can I get HQL training?
Yes though if you take the Wear and Carry training you can get the HQL too. Once you have a Wear and Carry permit you can get an HQL for free. If you want to get your HQL sooner you will have to pay the state the application fees for the HQL.
Do I need to take a class to carry a weapon in Maryland?
Yes. Maryland requires you take 16 hours of training and apply for and be granted a Wear and Carry license before you can carry. More information can be found in the Wear and Carry FAQ.
What do I need to bring to class?
You will need to bring a well rested self with a good attitude, a notebook, your state issued identification, and a completed pre-course questionnaire.
What do I need for the practical test?
We will be going to the range to administer your practical test. Bring:
State issued identification
At least 25 rounds of ammunition (If you won't miss)
The range is outdoors so be sure to dress appropriately for the weather. We shoot rain or shine.
Didn't the Supreme Court make Concealed Carry legal?
Concealed carry has always been legal, subject to certain requirements. These requirements were designed to prevent ordinary citizens from being able to carry and effectively defend themselves outside the home. The Supreme Court ruling in Bruen only invalidated the "Good and Substantial" requirement in Maryland law. All other parts of the law remain. You must apply for and be granted a license to carry.
Where is the handgun roster?
In order to purchase a handgun in Maryland it must be listed on the Handgun Roster. The handgun roster can be searched on the Maryland State Police Licensing Portal in the lower left.
For a list of disapproved handguns refer to the disapproved list.